#IntnlCookies: Mantecaditos

When I decided to join this International Cookie Exchange, hosted by Sarah of Curious Cuisiniere and Camilla of Culinary Adventures with Camilla, I first thought of doing a Polish cookie. I had my mom in town for a couple of weeks after the birth of my baby boy so going Polish was a no-brainer. Turns out that particular cookie was already claimed. (I shared my Kolaczki last weekend.)

I decided to then search for a recipe from my dad’s side – the Dominican Republic. The only thing I could find was a coconut cookie which was off limits to me. My dad spent his high school years in Puerto Rico so I figured I’d search for some Puerto Rican cookies instead. There were a few more varieties available and I was drawn towards mantecaditos.

But which version? I found a couple of recipes that used almond flour or ground almonds, but the recipe that used all-purpose flour and almond extract definitely won out; hey, no need to hit the grocery store!

These cookies were familiar, though I’d never had them before. The flaky cookie reminded me almost of a shortbread and almond extract flavor really came through the buttery cookie. My little man really liked these cookies – he was standing at the counter begging for more.

My mom and I thought baking cookies would be a fun way to get my little man involved in the kitchen. I brought his little table into the kitchen, gave him a little cookie dough, and a small bowl of sprinkles. To say he made a mess was an understatement, but he was happy and “contained” throughout the entire baking process. mantecaditos (baby) | sew you think you can cook

Mantecaditos

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C vegetable shortening
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 3/8 C sugar
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 C flour
  • sprinkles

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a baking sheet.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream the butter, shortening, and sugar until combined. Add the almond extract. Alternate adding the egg yolks and flour, mixing until combined.
  3. Roll dough into balls and press flat and create a well. Pour sprinkles in the well.
  4. Bake 8 – 12 minutes.

*This recipe is adapted from Melisa at http://warmtoastymuffins.com/2013/10/23/mantecaditos-puerto-rican-cookies/*

Mantecaditos for #IntlCookies from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Here’s the #IntnlCookies Tray…
listed in alphabetical order of the cookies’ country of origin

You can follow along on Twitter with the hashtag #IntnlCookies, and you can find these great recipes and more cookies from around the world on the International Cookie Exchange Pinterest Board.

14 thoughts on “#IntnlCookies: Mantecaditos

  1. The cookies sound great….but your little man stole the show for me. He is so cute, and reminds me of my oldest grandson at that age. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. Yum! I’ll definitely have to make these. They sound delicious. Evan has those pjs too! Love those photos of him with the sprinkles.

Leave a comment