Blogger CLUE: Honey Sriracha Sweet Potatoes

blogger CLUE

Today Blogger CLUE is continuing with our Fall celebrations with a wide open theme of “Autumn” for October’s reveal day.

This month I was assigned the blog Eliot’s Eats. I actually had Debra’s blog for the berries reveal day. Her blog is named after her cat (and favorite poet). I had fun searching through Debra’s blog this time with another season in mind. And I was ecstatic to find a plethora of sweet potato recipes!

When it comes to Autumn recipes the blogosphere becomes filled with pumpkin this and pumpkin that. Thanks to a pumpkin allergy (which I developed at the ripe old age of 21) Fall cooking has become quite disheartening. Luckily there’s the lovely sweet potato to make me pretend I’m in on the craze. 🙂

I made two dishes from Eliot’s Eats this month – one I made a fair number of changes to and will be sharing with you at a later date and this simple side dish. These sweet potatoes are doused in a honey sriracha sauce before being baked until tender. This sauce would be fantastic for any number of vegetables and even chicken. Actually, while I was mixing up the concoction I couldn’t get wings off the brain – probably because of the melted butter and the smell of vinegary heat. Yum!

I used half of the amount of sriracha Debra used on the off chance my little man would give them a try. (And because I’m a wimp.) I’m happy to report my 15 month old showed a little interest and worked on fork stabbing practice with these potatoes. He even licked a couple, but wouldn’t actually eat it. (…I’m trying to remain calm and patient while he goes through this stage of eating…)

Honey Sriracha Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 2 small or 1 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into bite size cubes
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1-2 tbsp sriracha
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly grease with cooking spray.
  2. Place sweet potatoes in a bowl.
  3. Whisk together butter, honey, sriracha, and olive oil. Pour over potatoes and toss to coat. Season with salt.
  4. Place potatoes on prepared baking sheet and roast for 20-30 minutes until tender, flip the potatoes halfway through the cooking process.

*This recipe is adapted from Debra at http://eliotseats.com/2015/04/12/roasted-sweet-potatoes-with-honey-and-sriracha/*

Honey Sriracha Sweet Potatoes for #BloggerCLUE from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Here’s a list of the other players of Blogger CLUE this month:

21 thoughts on “Blogger CLUE: Honey Sriracha Sweet Potatoes

  1. Glad you tried these and glad at least your Little Man stabbed at them. :). I am really intrigued to see your second recipe! Have a great Wednesday!

  2. I am SO sorry that you’re allergic to pumpkin! I adore pumpkin pie and can’t imagine not being able to eat it anymore. My husband loves sweet potatoes and heat so I think he’d be all over these guys. I need to give them a try!

  3. As soon as I saw the title of this recipe, I knew I was going to love it. I just love all the components separately and cannot wait to try them together! We have an 18 month old who is a pretty adventurous eater (some days) and I’m curious to see how she’d like them!

Leave a comment