Blogger CLUE: Raspberry Muffins

blogger CLUE

This month Blogger CLUE had us searching for berry recipes on our assigned blogs. A task I was happy to oblige. After my diagnosis of melon (most seriously cantellope) allergies I had to revisit my love of berries – most specifically raspberries. I would typically not shell out the money for them until they were in season and on sale, but after my fruit selection was drastically reduced I no longer felt guilty paying the prices so that I could enjoy strawberries or blueberries. (Raspberries I still reserve for violent cravings and serious savings.) Raspberries have always been my favorite fruit though. My grandfather used to have a couple raspberry bushes at the lake house in Wisconsin. Nothing tastes better than a freshly picked raspberry. Now that my parents own the house I might have to encourage my mom to replant the raspberry bushes! To this day, if I get that perfect raspberry in that store-bought pint it’ll take me back to the summers I spent at the lake.

This month I was assigned the blog Eliot’s Eats. I’ve actually visited Debra’s blog before from other blogging events. Her blog is named after her cat (and favorite poet). I am completely in awe of her green thumb – she even has a green house! I can’t grow a THING – I even manage to kill the scallions I save in a cup of water. Someday I’d like to be able to grow fresh herbs – and a gardenia bush. If I get gutsy I’d love to have citrus trees, too. And maybe tomatoes. I’m actually laughing as I write this… ah well.

I decided to make Raspberry Muffins. I guess I didn’t get enough breakfast food during #BrunchWeek. I mean, is that seriously a thing – too much breakfast? No, I think not. And I only have two muffin recipes on my blog so I figured, why not!

1554466_10102949326697521_7393131514455485945_nI made these muffins to bring with me to a girl’s night out at a painting studio and they were met with rave reviews. I decided mini muffins would be easiest to eat with a paintbrush in one hand and a glass of wine in the other. I even got 4 regular sized muffins out of the batter and left those for my husband to enjoy. And enjoy he did! When I got home from creating my masterpiece, I asked if he tried the muffins. A shy look told me not only did he try them, but he ate all four!

I started making these muffins during my son’s morning nap – I got as far as melting the butter, whisking the eggs, and preheating the oven before the doorbell rang and he woke up. My son hates naps and he refused to go back down, so I had a crabby boy in the kitchen with me while I finished making these muffins. Unfortunately during my pause in baking, the milk and butter mixture started to cool and harden. When it came time to mix my wet ingredients into the dry it was impossible to incorporate so I kept adding milk until I reached what I thought was an acceptable consistency, adding my fresh raspberries, and crossed my fingers.

These muffins were fantastic. Not only did using fresh raspberries remind me of my grandfather, but the use of almond extract always reminds me of my grandmother! These muffins were a happy treat for me.

I didn’t make the topping (and honestly, these muffins don’t need it) because my sink required a visit from the plumber and I really didn’t want another dirty bowl. Besides, I could pretend they were healthier muffins without the extra butter and sugar.

This recipe yields 24 mini muffins and 4 regular muffins.

 Raspberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 6 tbsp melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • approx 4 oz fresh raspberries, chopped

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease or line muffin tin(s).
  2. In a bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In another bowl beat the egg and egg yolk. Whisk in the milk, melted butter, and almond extract.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Gently fold in the raspberries.
  5. Spoon into muffin tins 3/4 full. Bake mini muffins for 12-14 minutes and regular sized muffins 18-20, or until a toothpick inserted comes out cleanly. Allow muffins to cool in pan.

*This recipe is adapted from Debra at http://eliotseats.com/2013/04/24/raspberry-muffins/*

raspberry muffins | sew you think you can cook

Here’s a list of the other players of Blogger CLUE this month:

21 thoughts on “Blogger CLUE: Raspberry Muffins

  1. These are my FiL’s favorite. I love your painting. A bunch of us are trying to get open dates to go to a sip ‘n paint class. If we do ever get that organized, I will have to remake these muffins! Glad you got EE!

  2. I love Deb and her blog and agree, she has the most amazing green thumb! I’m very envious of her garden set-up. The muffins were a perfect choice too. Even with the issue you had with the batter, they look perfect.

  3. I’ve always wanted to try a painting/wine class–you work turned out so nicely! It encourages me to sign up for the next class in our area.

    Love the muffins, too. I have come home from being out only to find that my husband has eaten all the treats I baked. I understand! 🙂

    1. Oh you really should. I did 4 or 5 when we were living in FL. I promise you you’ll be surprised by your painting when you’re done. I always get nervous and anxious about each new step but I’ve never been disappointed by the end result.

Leave a comment