Blogger CLUE: Sweet Potato Turkey Burgers

blogger CLUE

The sun is shining, the warm air is blowing, and Blogger CLUE is hitting the grill!

This month I was assigned the blog Anna Dishes. Anna’s blog is so bright and cheery it just invites you in to take a look around. She has a wide variety of recipes, beautiful floral arrangements, and even some travel posts!

I was on a mission to find something to throw on the grill and I settled on her Sriracha and Sweet Potato Turkey Burgers. I made a couple of changes to her recipe, though. Instead of Lawry’s seasoning and garlic salt I used Caribeque Island Thyme. I also omitted the Sriracha from the burger itself and instead made a Sriracha mayo as the burger’s condiment. The reasoning behind doing so was to control the amount of heat in the patty for my 1 year old. I am disappointed to say my little man did not have any interest in the burger and hope that he’ll try the leftovers with me for lunch tomorrow! My husband and I greatly enjoyed the unique flavor profile of this burger. The sweetness of the potato pairs with the subtle spiciness of the Island Thyme and helps keep the burgers perfectly moist.

Sweet Potato Turkey Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey (I used 85/15)
  • 3/4 C mashed sweet potato (I peeled, boiled, and mashed)
  • 3/4 C panko
  • 2 tsp Caribeque Island Thyme
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 C mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 tsp Sriracha (or to taste)
  • cheese (optional)
  • 6 hamburger buns
  • favorite burger toppings: lettuce, tomato, onion, etc

Steps:

  1. In a large bowl combine turkey, potato, panko, seasoning, egg, and olive oil until fully incorporated. Form in 6 equal sized patties.
  2. Grill 5-6 minutes on each side, or until an internal temperature of 165 degrees F is reached. Add cheese during last minute of cooking time if using.
  3. Make sriracha mayo: whisk mayo, sriracha, and a pinch of salt.
  4. Assemble burgers: place burger toppings on bottom bun, top with patty, and spread sriracha mayo on the top bun.

*This recipe is modified from Anna at http://www.annadishes.com/sriracha-and-sweet-potato-turkey-burgers/#sthash.YLkvIG5n.MgYhoZtj.dpbs*

Sweet Potato Turkey Burger for Blogger CLUE from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Here’s a list of the other players of Blogger CLUE this month:

Disclaimer: I received Caribeque Island Thyme in participating in #HotSummerEats. All opinions are my own. 

22 thoughts on “Blogger CLUE: Sweet Potato Turkey Burgers

  1. Love the idea of adding mashed sweet potato to the ground turkey! Turkey can be dry sometimes and I’ll bet the potato adds moisture along with flavor. Great choice, Lauren!

  2. Little guys take a while to develop a taste for the good stuff, eh? I’m sure he’ll come around soon because the burgers sound amazing. I was wondering if the sweet potato would overwhelm the other flavors without the Sriracha to balance it, but it sounds like leaving it out worked okay. They look delicious.

    1. He did eat it for lunch yesterday! And hummed while doing so. 🙂 Just must not have been hungry by the time we were eating our burgers.

Leave a comment