#MuffinMonday: Chocolate Chip Blood Orange Muffins

Muffin Monday

#MuffinMonday is a group of muffin loving bakers who get together once a month to bake muffins to brighten their Mondays. There isn’t a theme to #MuffinMonday posts so anything goes, as long as it’s a muffin!

You can see all our of lovely muffins by following our Pinterest board. Updated links for all of our past events and more information about Muffin Monday can be found on our home page.

About a month and a half ago I finally had the opportunity to discover first hand the beauty that is the blood orange. I’ve known of them but had never found them anywhere. And then one of the farmers markets had them and I grabbed a fair few. Most of them I simply indulged in my new favorite thing to do: cut open a blood orange and snap a photo of it (see Instagram) then squeeze the juice out of it and have a fresh glass. As blood oranges can vary in color from orange to dark red I had a blast being surprised by each slice of the knife. I came to the conclusion that the darker the fruit, the sweeter its juice.

 

When I made these muffins I “wasted” the darker oranges on the juice that went into the batter. The ones I’d saved for the photographs looked like your boring, everyday run-of-the-mill orange. Go figure. The pigment of your orange will actually affect the final color of your muffin.

This recipe makes 1 dozen muffins.

Chocolate Chip Blood Orange Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 C flour
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • zest of 3 blood oranges
  • 3/4 C chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 C fresh blood orange juice (3-4 oranges)
  • 1 stick  butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with liners.
  2. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and orange zest. Mix in the chocolate chips.
  3. In another bowl whisk together the eggs, juice, butter, and vanilla.
  4. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Divide batter among prepared muffin tin.
  5. Bake 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out cleanly. Allow muffins to cool in the pan 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

*This recipe is adapted from Tara at http://tarasmulticulturaltable.com/blood-orange-chocolate-chip-muffins/*

Chocolate Chip Blood Orange Muffins for #MuffinMonday from Sew You Think You Can Cook

And don’t forget to check out these other muffin recipes:

Banana Bread and Chocolate Muffins from Making Miracles

Grilled Cherry Muffins from Farm Fresh Feasts

Jamaican Me Hungry Muffins from A Day in the Life on the Farm

Margarita Sour Cream Muffins from Karen’s Kitchen Stories

Pancake Muffins from Passion Kneaded

Sweet Corn Muffins from Food Lust People Love

15 thoughts on “#MuffinMonday: Chocolate Chip Blood Orange Muffins

  1. Isn’t it strange how some are redder than others? I found the same thing when I finally had a chance to buy some blood oranges here. Orange and chocolate are a classic combination, perfect for muffins!

  2. I love blood oranges. I especially like uisng them in salads because the presentation is so amazing but I will spare some to go into these wonderful sounding muffins.

  3. I never knew they had varying hues. Unfortunately, there are none here for me to get some and be surprised by the hues. Your muffins look great!

  4. Lauren,
    I have a tendency to get ‘a fair few’ when I see some novel produce item I’ve just gotta try.
    I really like what you’ve done with these, and I bet they taste yummy.
    Thanks!

Leave a comment