#SundaySupper: Waffles!

I am so excited to be back blogging with the Sunday Supper Movement. My last post was the Regional Specialties themed day – OVER TWO MONTHS AGO! I have definitely missed being able to share the table with this great group of foodies.

As soon as the theme was revealed for today’s event, you know I couldn’t miss out on this one. Waffles! If you know me but at all you’d probably have reported a missing person had I not chimed in today. Thanks, Sue from A Palatable Pastime, for hosting today’s event at a time in my life when I could finally participate in #SundaySupper. I know you did it just for me and not because National Waffle Iron Day is Wednesday. 😉 Be sure to scroll past my recipe for a collection of over 35 waffles recipes.

Having made just a few waffles in my day, I decided to throw caution to the wind and make my own waffle. I did it “by feel” and needed to adjust my flour amount before I was comfortable with the batter. I’m happy to report that my waffles worked out, and my creative flavor combination wasn’t a failure.

I love pairing cherries with chocolate, so those hand picked cherries of ours found their way into my waffles. As sometimes the only way to get Firecracker to eat is by way of waffle or pancake, I knew I had to throw something nutritious in there. That’s where the beets come in. I was going to roast them and toss them in a smoothie, but this way was easier.

An Original Recipe

Chocolate Cherry Beet Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 C flour
  • 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 C milk
  • 1/3 C vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 C shredded beets, patted dry
  • 2 C fresh cherries, pitted and chopped
  • whipped cream for serving (optional)

Steps:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
  2. In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla.
  3. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Fold in the beets and cherries.
  4. Into a hot greased waffle iron, drop 1/3 C of batter and cook until browned. Serve with whipped cream.

Chocolate Cherry Beet Waffles for #SundaySupper from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Sweet and Sinful:

Savory Brinner Winners:

Sunday Supper MovementJoin the #SundaySupper conversation on twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET. Follow the #SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement

16 thoughts on “#SundaySupper: Waffles!

  1. Looks like you are indeed an experienced waffle connoisseur. Your creative combo of cocoa, cherries and beets is brilliant…and nutritious!

  2. Beyond creative! Did you know I only had waffles once in my entire life? And not too long ago… (I know, I am a mutant of sorts)

    love that you went into a daring path and added beets! A wonderful twist…

  3. As a lover of all things beets …I immediately feel in love with this recipe. Can’t wait to try it! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment