#SundaySupper: National Grandparents Day

Today is National Grandparents Day and to celebrate the Sunday Supper family is bringing together a table full of hand-me-down recipes. Thank you to the Sunday Supper Movement for hosting today’s event.

Granparents Day

When it comes to my love of cooking I have my mom’s mom, Busia, to thank. While I don’t recall her ever sitting me down and teaching me a recipe or even how to cook, I have fond memories of her welcoming me into her kitchen to help prepare a meal. I would often be given the “prep cook” jobs of peeling carrots or potatoes, and eventually cutting veggies. I think that’s why, to this day, I quite enjoy those simple tasks.

I’ve shared quite a few of my Busia’s recipes on the blog including: Busia’s Cheese Soup, Pierogi, and Busy Day Chocolate Cake. Two of my #BundtBakers posts have been from her recipes, too (Fresh Apple Cake and Easter Pound Cake).

Today I am sharing her barbecue sauce. This sauce is probably my favorite thing my grandmother made. We all said she should bottle it! The very first time I made this sauce my husband wasn’t a fan (gasp!), stating that it wasn’t thick enough. When Busia made it it wasn’t ever a very thick sauce, but since then I’ve allowed it to cook a little longer and now my husband enjoys it too. Honestly, my favorite way to eat Busia’s barbecue sauce is with cheese and crackers – sounds strange, but it’s perfect! It is also great paired with pork and mashed potatoes. This barbecue sauce is tangier than most and has pieces of onion swimming through it.

Busia’s Barbecue Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 1 C ketchup
  • 1/2 C water
  • juice of 1-2 lemons, to taste
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder

Steps:

  1. In a saucepan, melt butter and cook onions until tender. Season with S+P. Add the remaining ingredients, whisk, and bring to a gentle boil. Reduce the heat and cook until desired consistency is reached. Add more S+P, to taste.

Busia's Barbecue Sauce for #SundaySupper from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Savory Meals with Special Memories

Sweets that are the Sweetest

8387592742_f6164fd5a8_oJoin the #SundaySupper conversation on twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET. Follow the#SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement.

19 thoughts on “#SundaySupper: National Grandparents Day

  1. I love a tangier barbecue sauce so this sounds perfect! I like the switch of lemon juice instead of more vinegar, which is what I usually use. I think your Busia was on to something! Thank you for sharing, Lauren.

Leave a comment