#WaffleWeek2015: Hummus Waffles with Sausage and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

#WaffleWeek2015 Hosted by Kim @ Feed Me, Seymour

Waffles are in my top five favorite foods, so when I found out there was a blogging event completely surrounding waffles I just had to join in! Thank you to Kim of Feed Me, Seymour for allowing me to barge in!

I have six different waffle recipes on this blog, all of which appeal to the first meal of the day (not that that stops us from having waffles for dinner once a month!). I thought it would be fun to take this festive occasion to share a waffle intended for dinner (or lunch).

These hummus waffles are studded with Italian sausage, sun-dried tomatoes, and fresh basil. I was tempted to rename these waffles “pizza waffles” because that’s exactly what the flavor profile reminded us of! I did feel that that title would be slightly misleading as there isn’t any cheese in these waffles. I do think adding in some shredded mozzarella would be welcome to really take the pizza concept to the next level – and provide marinara for dipping!

I wasn’t really sure how to eat these waffles, but we still topped this savory creation with maple syrup (no butter, though). We loved the savory sweet combination, so give it a try!

IMG_5329 (2)I was skeptical on how my son would handle these waffles. He, like his mother, loves all breakfast foods, but I wasn’t sure if the texture of the add-ins would throw him off. The answer was not even a little bit! He ate an entire waffle on his own.

Hummus Waffles with Sausage and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 C flour
  • 1 C white whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 C milk
  • 1/2 C hummus
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 sausage link, casings removed and fully cooked
  • 1/4 C chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil (I used Gourmet Garden lightly dried basil)

Steps:

  1. Preheat waffle iron and spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Whisk in the eggs and milk. Add in the hummus and olive oil, mixing until combined (it will be thick). Fold in the cooked sausage, sun-dried tomatoes, and basil.
  3. Drop 1/3 – 1/2 C of waffle batter onto the prepared waffle iron and cook until golden.

*This recipe is modified from Gina at http://www.runningtothekitchen.com/savory-hummus-waffles/*

Hummus Waffles with Sausage and Sun-Dried Tomatoes for #WaffleWeek2015 from Sew You Think You Can Cook

And keep that waffle iron hot for these other great recipes:

Appet-affles

Breakf-affles

Waffl-ides

Dessert Dish-affles

18 thoughts on “#WaffleWeek2015: Hummus Waffles with Sausage and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  1. Now that you put the pizza idea in my head, I’m going to have to try these both as you posted them and with the addition of cheese and served with marinara.
    I’m so happy to have been involved in this project with so many talented bloggers.

  2. What an interesting idea for a waffle! I love hummus, but would never have thought to do this with it … and I wish I had ‘cuz these sound delicious!

  3. Wow, what a fun idea to mix hummus into the waffle batter! These waffles look amazing. Breakfast, lunch AND dinner I say! 🙂

Leave a comment