{Meatier} Turkey Chili

I don’t know what your summer’s looked like but here in southwest Ohio there’s been enough rain to make Florida seem like the dessert. The guy who cuts our lawn was telling me it’s the 4th wettest season in history! (Yes, Dad, that means our lawn mower is still broken….)

All of this rain made it perfectly acceptable to make chili in the middle of July.

I’ve never really cared for chili until I created my own recipe. My chili though is almost close to a soup because I don’t care for the meaty texture of popular chilies. Every time I make my chili I adjust it slightly and each time I’ve made it meatier by either forgetting the chicken stock completely, or adding more beans and/or turkey depending on how much I need to make.

So, I decided to branch out and try someone else’s recipe. … Kinda. I knew I didn’t need to make as much as Olivia made so I halved it – ish. I have to say, we absolutely loved this turkey chili! A dollop of sour cream and a generous sprinkling of scallion created (for me) the perfect bowl. Stuart added some shredded cheese, and we both scooped the occasional bite with tortilla chips. I’m partial to my original recipe, but this turkey chili is really threatening it’s crown. Maybe I’ll have to combine the two recipes!

I think it’s safe to say that I can no long claim “I don’t like chili”. Next up – experimenting with different meats!

Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 vidalia onion
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 lb ground turkey (I used 85/15)
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 C chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp hot sauce, or more to taste
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning

Steps:

  1. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, saute onion and pepper in olive oil. When tender, add the garlic and cook another 60 seconds. Transfer to a large pot.
  2. In the same skillet cook the turkey, breaking it up. Use a slotted spoon to transfer the cooked turkey to the pot.
  3. To the pot add the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook for at least 45 minutes. Note: If the chili becomes too thick, simply add some more chicken stock. 

*This recipe is modified from Olivia at http://www.oliviascuisine.com/best-turkey-chili-ever/*

{Meatier} Turkey Chili | Sew You Think You Can Cook

2 thoughts on “{Meatier} Turkey Chili

  1. The recipe looks great.
    I can eat chili any time as long as my body is cool. Lately, I haven’t felt cool enough to eat much of anything.
    I am sharing this for others to see. It looks that good. Got my taste buds flowing.

    You mentioned Florida and I had to laugh. Yes, Southern Florida is desert dry. They are in the worse drought in over a 100 years. It does look like a desert in many areas,
    What I am laughing about is in Central Florida where we live and work , we have flooding ALL over except for our higher areas. Most of Buster Island has been flood for months.
    We are breaking heat records also.
    I have been following the weather all over. It seems people have it either WET or Dry this year.
    Hang tight. It can’t last much longer….
    Praying as I said that.
    Have an awesome week. Sarah.

    1. Thanks, Sarah! I grew up in SWFL – rain for 30min at 3pm every day. But at least that was to be expected. I do like the rain but not days and days of it.

Leave a comment