CIC: Pineapple and Rosemary

CIC-header

I was so happy when the votes were in for this month’s Crazy Ingredient Challenge. It was a close battle but pineapple edged out zucchini.

CIC ingredientsI know I already made a lemonade this year, but can you really have too many flavor options for summer’s perfect beverage!? I decided to make a simple syrup with the rosemary, puree some fresh pineapple, and add in freshly squeezed lemon juice.

I actually didn’t make the simple syrup strong enough which is why you see 2-4 sprigs listed in my ingredients; I used 2 sprigs but would venture to say you could double that amount. To get more rosemary flavor in my lemonade I served fresh sprigs in the glasses, because if you smell the rosemary while you drink it you still get that flavor. I then threw in a few more sprigs in the pitcher in the fridge and after just a few hours the rosemary flavor was there.

An Original Recipe

Pineapple Rosemary Lemonade

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 4 C water, divided use
  • 2-4 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 2 – 2 1/2 C fresh cubed pineapple
  • 1 C fresh lemon juice (from 7-8 lemons)

Steps:

  1. In a small saucepan over medium heat dissolve sugar in 1 C water with the fresh rosemary sprigs. Remove from heat once sugar is dissolved and let cool. Remove rosemary.
  2. Place pineapple in a blender and blend until smooth. Strain the pineapple puree (this takes time). You should get 3/4 C pineapple juice (measure from the liquid line, not the foam line).
  3. Return pineapple juice to the blender along with the simple syrup, lemon juice, and 3 C water. Blend just to combine. Serve cold with additional rosemary sprigs for garnish.

Pineapple Rosemary Lemonade | Sew You Think You Can Cook

To see the other bloggers who participated in this month’s Crazy Ingredient Challenge click on the link below.

14 thoughts on “CIC: Pineapple and Rosemary

  1. Love it so much!! I made my Bundt cake with rosemary and had to also include a range. It smelled great! But the flavour we subtle

Leave a comment