#BundtBakers: Lemons

4ae7b-bundtbakerspostThis month #BundtBakers is celebrating the end of spring by baking bundts with lemons as the theme. I really love this theme as my biggest “issue” with dessert is that it can be too rich and heavy, but the use of lemons (and citrus) makes cake feel light and bright. Perfect for the upcoming summer season. A big thank you to Anne of From My Sweet Heart for hosting this month.

I know I’ve said this before but this cake might be my favorite one. It’s so bright, light, and addicting! The tart lemon glaze I made in lieu of frosting gives it that “one more bite” quality. I decided on a glaze so as to not hide the beautiful design of my awesome star bundt pan! There is one person who wasn’t interested in my cake though – the 11 month old in my house. I thought it’d be a good idea to slowly introduce him to sugar so he doesn’t get sick on his birthday. I’ve given him a couple bites of cookie – which he loved – but this cake didn’t pique his interest at all! We offered it a couple of times and he simply turned his head and pushed the fork away. The kid doesn’t know what he’s missing!

crossfit babyAs much as I would have loved to eat that entire cake by myself I thought it would be smarter to share the love. With people who earned the extra calories! The first Friday of every month my husband’s Crossfit gym invites family members to watch the workout and join in a potluck. We came home with just two pieces of cake left – and had we stayed a little bit longer my plate would’ve been just crumbs.

Lemon Buttermilk Bundt Cake with Tart Lemon Glaze

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C room temperature vegetable shortening
  • 2/3 C vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp lemon extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 1/4 C flour
  • 1 1/2 C cake flour
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 C buttermilk
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3/4 C powdered sugar (you could increase this amount depending on juiciness of lemon and desired tartness of glaze)

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Heavily grease bundt pan.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whisk together shortening, oil, and both extracts. Add in eggs, one at at time. Mix in the lemon zest.
  3. In a large bowl sift together both flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Switch stand mixer attachment from the whisk to the paddle. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the stand mixer and mix until combined. Add half of the buttermilk and mix until combined. Repeat with another third of the dry ingredients, the rest of the buttermilk, and finishing with the last of the dry ingredients.
  5. Pour batter into greased bundt pan. Bake 50 – 55 minute, until a cake tester comes out cleanly. Allow cake to cool in the pan.
  6. Make the glaze: Whisk together lemon juice and powdered sugar. Pour over cake before serving.

*The cake recipe is adapted from Barry at http://www.rockrecipes.com/lemon-velvet-cake/*

Lemon Buttermilk Bundt with Tart Lemon Glaze for #BundtBakers from Sew You Think You Can Cook

And don’t forget to take a peek at what other talented bakers have baked this month:

Bee’s Knees Lemon Honey Bundt from Food Lust People Love

Blueberry-Lemon Breakfast Bundt from Cali’s Cuisine

Bundt Cake de Limón from La Mejor Manera de Hacer

Eggless Lemon Bundt Cake from Seduce Your Tastebuds

Extra Lemon Bundt Cake from Los Chatos Chefs

Lavender Lemon Cake from Magnolia Days

Lemon & Lime Cheese Bundt Cake from Un Mordisco Un Pecado

Lemon Apple Upside Down Bundt Cake from Simply Veggies

Lemon Basil Bundt Cake from Tartacadabra

Lemon Bundt Cake from Recipes, Food and Cooking

Lemon Confetti Bundt Cake from Our Good Life

Lemon Curd Bundt Cake with Lemon Glaze from I Love Bundt Cakes

Lemon Honey Bundt Cake from Brunch with Joy

Lemon Marble Bundt Cake from Jenny and Sweets

Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake from Liv for Cake

Lemon Poppy Seeds Bundt Cake from La Cocina de Aisha

Lemon Poppyseed Bundt from A Day in the Life on the Farm

Lemon Rhubarb Bundt Cake from From Gate to Plate

Lemon Ricotta and Poppyseed Bundt Cake from Spice Roots

Lemon Ricotta Bundt Cake from Love and Confections

Lemon-Cranberry Poppyseed Bundt Cake from Take A Bite Out of Boca

Mini Limoncello Bundts from Living the Gourmet

Pink Lemon Pound Cake from Making Miracles

Pink Lemonade Bundt from Jane’s Adventures in Dinner

Rhubarb Pound Cake Bundt with Lemon Glaze from Brooklyn Homemaker

Soft Lemon Rosemary Bread from Passion Kneaded

Spring Strawberry Lemon Bundt Cake from Adventures in All Things Food

Strawberry Lemonade Bundt Cake from Baking and Creating with Avril

Sweet Lemon Bundt with Blackberry Glaze from From My Sweet Heart

All recipes and photographs can be found on our individual blogs, on our Pinterest board, and the #bundtbakers homepage.

30 thoughts on “#BundtBakers: Lemons

  1. One of my little nieces was not a sweet eater either as a baby. At eight, she would still prefer things less sweet, like an unfrosted muffin over a frosted cupcake. Perhaps your little one will be the same. Perhaps a large cookie for his birthday? Meanwhile, the rest of us would love a slice of your delectable lemon cake!

    1. Too bad we’d ordered his cake already! If he’s still cake-averse we’ll do cookie cakes from here on out. 🙂 besides, that first birthday requires cake!

  2. I use to share cakes and other sweets I bake at home too… and my little 4 y/o daughter is not a cake eater eithers as your lil one 🙂
    By my side I will have some of your cake… it looks delicious

    1. Seems to be a growing trend! I have a friend whose son doesn’t like cake either. Ah well – there could definitely be worse things. 🙂

  3. Beautiful cake! Sounds just perfect!
    I love lemon bundts too- they really do manage to feel like and decadent all at the same time!
    I always end up bringing at least half of my cakes to work with me every month- my coworkers just expect it now and get upset when I don’t!

  4. In my family my 8 yr old, loves cake but her max limit is 1 piece.. same with my husband… So, me too share the cake everytime with my friends… Feel content in sharing with them. Gorgeous cake..

  5. I usually share my cakes, but this month’s cake was my daughter’s favorite. So she didn’t let me. I love the tart glaze you made for your cake.. that one extra bite of lemon!

  6. I agree, lemons instantly make things fresh and bright. Your cake looks and sounds delightful. A perfection addition to this month’s theme. xo, Catherine

  7. I am a lemon dessert lover myself, and would have had no problem devouring this entire thing. It looks so delicious Lauren! And that bundt pan is crazy, so cool! I had never heard of a Star bundt pan so had to google it.

  8. I’d have no problem eating the entire thing as I adore lemon, your cake looks wonderful. Laura@ Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a comment