#SundaySupper: Easter/Passover Leftovers

Happy Easter everybody! I hope today you are feeling blessed, surrounded by family and/or friends.

Today’s #SundaySupper is here to help you with the leftovers you’ll have after tonight’s holiday feast so scroll past my recipe to find many more uses for those leftovers. Thanks to Liz of of That Skinny Chick Can Bake for hosting such a great event.

Growing up we would always have a dish traditional to my mom’s family. We would have a dish called Swienconka (pronounced shven-shun-ka). Swienconka is Polish and translates to “blessed food.” My mom’s grandfather was a butcher and he would bring home the leftover meats for this dish – veal, smoked butt, two kinds of Polish sausage, and ham. These meats would be cooked and mixed with hard boiled eggs. The mixture would then marinate in vinegar and fresh and jarred horseradish. This cold meat salad is an acquired taste. My mom still makes it, although in much smaller quantities! I have never made the dish myself, one day I’ll keep on the tradition but it’s not a cheap concoction and my husband doesn’t really like horseradish, so for now it’s off the menu.

I don’t serve a traditional Easter ham either. I might be the only American who doesn’t like ham! I’ll give it another try one day. Instead I’ve always done a pork loin of some kind. Tonight, though, I’m going way off the grid and make shrimp with risotto!

My brother came up this weekend to spend time with his nephew and per his request we had breakfast for dinner last night – rolled pancakes! This morning before he hit the road we had cinnamon rolls.

IMG_4550And of course, I had to make my grandmother’s Easter pound cake. Mom finally found her lamb mold – after buying a new one – and gave it to me. So this year I went super traditional and made the cake in the shape of a lamb. It was definitely more nerve-wracking than doing it as a bundt!

Regardless of what you serve tonight, the leftover protein can be transformed into breakfast for the week! Breakfast burritos are a family favorite at Thanksgiving – my mother-in-law makes huge batches for everyone to serve themselves throughout the week. Tortillas wrapped around scrambled eggs, meat, and cheese. She adds salsa to hers but I didn’t have any so I put taco sauce in with the eggs. These were made with leftover chicken. You could even add whatever leftover veggies you have, too!

bfast burritos prep

Breakfast Burritos

Ingredients:

  • eggs, 1 per burrito
  • taco sauce or hot sauce, optional
  • splash of milk
  • butter
  • leftover meat, cubed or shredded, ~1/8 C per burrito
  • shredded cheese, ~1/8 C per burrito
  • soft taco sized flour tortillas

Steps:

  1. Whisk eggs with taco sauce and milk. Season with S+P.
  2. Melt a little butter in a nonstick skillet. Pour eggs into skillet. With a spatula or wooden spoon gently move eggs around and cook until desired consistency is reached. Remove from eat and set aside.
  3. Prepare burritos: place eggs in center of tortilla, add chicken, and cheese. Fold sides in on the filling and roll up from the unrolled sides. (Get my “tutorial” on how to roll a perfect burrito here.)
  4. Wrap burritos in plastic wrap. They can then be frozen for easy grab and go breakfasts.
  5. To cook: remove plastic wrap, wrap burrito in a paper towel, and microwave 1:30-2:00.

bfast burritos | sew you think you can cook

Appetizers

Breakfast and Brunch

Main Dishes

Soups and Salads

Desserts

8387592742_f6164fd5a8_o

Join the #SundaySupper conversation on twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET. Follow the#SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement.

27 thoughts on “#SundaySupper: Easter/Passover Leftovers

  1. Breakfast burritos are one of my favorite things, Lauren! I think your taco sauce in the eggs was inspired and I love that they can be made ahead and reheated as needed. Genius!

    1. Fun!! Fudge sounds much less stressful than cake. My lamb lost his head – but nothing toothpicks and frosting couldn’t fix.

  2. Breakfast burritos are so handy for busy mornings. I love that they can be frozen and re-heated quickly. Leftover pork loin sure is a nice change from the usual bacon or sausage too.

  3. I’m not a huge ham fan either. I wouldn’t mind a bit in this burrito, but I’m with you as far as a dinner goes. This breakfast looks tasty!

  4. Breakfast for dinner is the best! Whether it’s rolled pancakes, cinnamon rolls or your lovely breakfast burritos – I’m in! Must confess I am intrigued by the traditional Polish dish. Love that you’ve got a recipe (and a lamby cake pan) that’s been handed down from older generations =)

  5. Wow, your Easter table sounds WONDERFUL. I really love everything your family does to prep for this happy holiday 🙂 guess you’ll all be super happy with these breakfast burritos around, too–they look perfect for the next day!

Leave a comment