#SundaySupper: Beantastic

Today’s #SundaySupper is celebrating the bean. Any type of bean is fair game. When you stop and think about it, that’s a very broad assignment. Which doesn’t make narrowing down a recipe to make very easy. There are the beans that first come to mind – those beans in a can (or dry): black beans, pinto beans, kidney beans, etc. There are the beans in the produce aisle: green beans, pole beans, lima beans, etc. Then there’s the beans you don’t think of as beans – those on the sweet side of life: cacao, coffee, and vanilla. And don’t forget about the soy bean!

I’ve never thought about beans so much in my life and I have Tammi of Momma’s Meals to thank. Make sure you scroll past my recipe to see the wide variety of beany recipes!

Making baked beans from scratch has been a culinary bucket list item for me. My recipe though isn’t a technical baked bean because I tackle the job with the help of my trusty slow cooker! I did my research and created a Lauren Everson original recipe. And this one isn’t even my New Year’s Resolution recipe! I’ll be sharing that for Stir Fry Day Friday this week.

Back to the beans. There’s been a bottle of whiskey sitting in our liquor cabinet for quite some time. I don’t even know where it came from. I almost donated it to my brother-in-law when we moved, but I held on to it, thinking it could come in handy. The day had finally arrived. I decided to use it in my baked beans! Whiskey and bacon. I knew I had a winner there.

I loaded up my slow cooker and crossed my fingers that my flavors would meld nicely and my beans would cook properly. This adventure was the first time I’d purchased dried beans! Question: what does it mean when “they” say to “sort” the beans? My intuition tells me it means finding the “bad” beans and tossing them – but how do you know if it’s a “bad bean?”

When I dumped all of the ingredients into the slow cooker I was over powered by the smell of the whiskey. I figured I’d give it half of the cook time before deciding if I needed to mellow it down with more sugar. I tasted my sauce throughout the day and was excitedly happy with how perfect things were coming along. These baked beans are easy to make and have much more flavor than a can of baked beans. Bring a pot of these to your next picnic or potluck and you’ll be everyone’s favorite person. Did I mention whiskey and bacon?

An Original Recipe

Whiskey Bacon Baked Beans

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb dry navy beans
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 strips center cut bacon, chopped
  • 1/4 C molasses
  • 1/2 C dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 C ketchup
  • 2 tbsp spicy mustard (I used El Diablo Texas Chili)
  • 1 C whiskey
  • 2 C water
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp Kosher salt

Steps:

  1. Rinse, drain, and sort beans. Soak them in 2 qt water (or according to package directions) over night.
  2. Put beans and remaining ingredients in to a slow cooker.
  3. Cook on LOW 10 hours, or until beans are tender and sauce has thickened.

Whiskey Bacon Baked Beans | Sew You Think You Can Cook

Beantastic Beginners:

Bean-a-rific Soups and Stews:

Bean-a-licious Sides:

Incredi-bean Main Meals:

Amaze-beans Sweet Endings:

8387592742_f6164fd5a8_o

Join the #SundaySupper conversation on twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET. Follow the#SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement.

41 thoughts on “#SundaySupper: Beantastic

  1. Whiskey, bacon, molasses and brown sugar sound like a winning combination to me, Lauren! And your instincts about sorting were right, but what you are actually looking for is stones and dirt, not necessarily a bad bean. If you want to see what I am talking about, check out this post where I cook black beans. They were a normal brand I buy in the US and carry back in my suitcase each summer. http://www.foodlustpeoplelove.com/2012/02/black-beans-with-smoked-sausage.html

  2. This recipe is a definite keeper! Love that you listened to the whisper that urged you to keep that bottle…Because now we get to benefit from a fantabulous slow cooker beantastic dish!

  3. You’ve combined two of my favorite things… whiskey and bacon… in a delicious baked bean dish. I’m in heaven 🙂 Can’t wait to try these out!!

Leave a comment