Beet Biscuits

My neighbor gave me a mega massive beet from her local produce box. She said they were being over taken by beets and asked if I’d like one. I’d only ever used beets once before, for August’s Crazy Ingredient Challenge, and we really enjoyed them. This one beet provided the same amount of food as 2 of the beets purchased at the grocery store. Seriously, huge!

I stumbled upon this idea when searching for a dinner recipe to use some of the sweet potatoes my husband brought home from a grocery run. (He is king of straying from the list) A quick Food Network search revealed Paula Deen’s recipe for Sweet Potato Biscuits.

Then I saw the beet on the counter staring at me, begging to be used. I figured, why not!?

I’ve never made biscuits before. I’ve never seen or heard of beet biscuits. But who’s to say I can’t do it?!

I couldn’t remember ever being this happy after a recipe success.

And as an added bonus – they’re pink! Stuart pointed out that they fit with Breast Cancer Awareness month, so rush to the computer to create a blog post I did!

Beet Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 1 beet
  • 1/2 C whole milk
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp cold unsalted butter, cubed

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Wash the beet and wrap in foil. Roast beet for 50-60 minutes, until fork tender. When cool enough to touch peel, cube, and place in a food processor. Puree the beet and add a few tablespoons of the milk until the beet reaches an almost smooth texture.
  3. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  4. In a food processor, pulse together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add in the cold cubed butter and pulse until the mixture looks like coarse sand. Place in a large bowl.
  5. Fold the pureed beet into the flour mixture. Add in the remaining milk.
  6. Knead dough on a floured surface. Add extra flour if needed. Press to 1/2″ thick. Cut dough into 9 square biscuits and place on a greased baking sheet. (Or, if you’re fancy, use a 2 1/2″ round biscuit cutter.)
  7. Bake 12-14 minutes until firm to the touch.

*This recipe is adapted from Paula at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/fluffy-sweet-potato-biscuits-recipe.html *

Beet Biscuits

5 thoughts on “Beet Biscuits

Leave a comment