Hummus Chicken

My mom came to visit last weekend and while Stuart was off Adventure Racing.

We enjoyed a very girly weekend. We got our nails done, which I never do – I even picked a pink polish color!, we watched chick-flicks and ate popcorn, we went shopping, and she knitted a hat and booties while I worked on another baby quilt.

Oh – and after a trip to Home Depot we changed 7 light bulbs in my house.

Mom and I are perfectly happy with simple snack-style dinners – hummus with pita, popcorn, salad, cheese and crackers, etc. However I did plan to cook at least once while she was in town. I picked out a recipe that I thought she’d not only like but would make back home. Something healthy and simple. And this Hummus Chicken is exactly that. You could even add variation by simply using whatever flavor hummus you like – red pepper, basil, spicy, original! I served the chicken with asparagus. The original recipe suggested serving  roasted squash, but as that would kill me (allergies) I chose to omit the dangerous vegetable.

I didn’t end up making this either Friday night or Saturday while Stuart was gone, and we had plans to go to Sushi on Sunday for dinner so I decided to make the chicken for Sunday’s lunch. And as it was a most beautiful day I knew I’d get to take advantage of some natural light for once! Before plating the food I brought it over to my standard photography site to find that the window panes create shadows that are smaller than my plates. So much for that idea. (Next house – the windows and sunlight will be greatly scrutinized.) But I’ve read up on food photography tips and every blogger and book says to take the food outside. So, I did! And I think it turned out great! (Although we did have to shoo away a bumble bee!) As my schedule doesn’t allow for me to photograph meals outdoors I don’t have a set up or anything, so… my food was put on the sidewalk. But hey, it’s on a plate which is on a placemat. It did greatly amuse me though to be picking food up off the ground to then go inside and enjoy.

Hummus Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 8 tbsp hummus
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Season chicken with S+P. Top each breast with 2 tbsp hummus. Place in a greased casserole dish.
  3. Squeeze chicken with lemon and sprinkle with paprika.
  4. Bake 25 minutes.

This recipe is adapted from Ali at http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/hummus-crusted-chicken/*

Image

Leave a comment