Chinese Barbecue Chicken

The slow cooker isn’t just for easy week night meals; it’s also great for busy weekends! When my friend and I get together or my mother-in-law is in town for quilting weekends we throw together a slow cooker meal before hunkering down in the “sweat shop” for the day.  (I like to tell my husband I’m “Super Wife” on these days.)

I served these with rice and fresh green beans. The leftovers were turned into sandwiches.

Chinese Barbecue Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 C honey
  • 1/2 C soy sauce
  • 1/4 C hoisin
  • 1/4 C blackberry jam
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 3 scallions, sliced

Steps:

  1. Combine honey, soy sauce, hoisin, jam, oil, and garlic.
  2. Place chicken in slow cooker. Cover with onion and sauce. Cook on LOW 4 1/2 hours.
  3. Remove chicken and shred. Pour the sauce in a saucepan. Mix together cornstarch with 3 tbsp water. Whisk into sauce and bring to a boil until thickened. Pour over shredded chicken.

*This recipe is adapted from Kelly at http://www.justataste.com/2013/09/slow-cooker-crock-pot-honey-garlic-chicken-recipe/*

Chinese Chicken

Chinese Chicken

One thought on “Chinese Barbecue Chicken

Leave a comment