#FoodieExtravaganza: Noodles

foodieextravaganza-300

Can we take a moment and freak out a little bit about how it’s already March? I know February is a short month, but I feel like we just celebrated those #FoodieExtravaganza pies!

Each month we take turns hosting and selecting a foodie holiday associated with that month; March includes Noodle Month, Celery Month, and Frozen Food Month. Today we’re celebrating noodles! Thanks to our host, Lauren of From Gate to Plate, for not picking celery. 😉

The noodle I am featuring in my recipe today are the classic elbow macaroni. But that’s all that’s classic about this dish! This macaroni and cheese is a guy’s dream – bacon and beer! I made this indulgent pasta for my husband’s birthday earlier this year. It would make for a wonderful Father’s Day meal, too.

Having beer in the cheese sauce really reminded me of fondue! I don’t care for beer, but it works amazingly well in macaroni and cheese! Especially when there’s a crust of bacon on top.

This recipe makes way more than the two servings quoted in the original recipe. I’d go ahead and say this macaroni would feed 4-6!

Beer and Bacon Mac & Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 C dry elbow noodles
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 C milk
  • 1 bottle (12 oz) beer
  • 1 1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2 C shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 C panko bread crumbs
  • 8 strips center cut bacon, cooked and crumbled

Steps:

  1. Cook pasta in boiling salted water until barely al dente, about a minute less than the recommended cooking time. Drain.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  3. Melt butter in a large pot over medium-high heat. Whisk in the flour and cook until golden. Add the milk and beer, whisking continuously. Slowly add the cheeses and stir until melted. Cook, stirring, 6 minutes until thickened. Season with the paprika, salt, garlic powder, pepper, and nutmeg.
  4. Add cooked noodles to the cheese sauce.
  5. Divide macaroni between ramekins or use a casserole dish.
  6. Combine the panko and cooked bacon. Top the macaroni.
  7. Bake until bubbly and the crust is golden, about 20 minutes. Allow macaroni to cool 5 minutes before serving.

*This recipe is adapted from Melanie at http://melaniemakes.com/blog/2014/02/bacon-crusted-beer-mac-and-cheese.html*

Bacon and Beer Mac & Cheese for #FoodieExtravaganza from Sew You Think You Can Cook

Be sure to check out these other recipes involving noodles:

One Pot Garlic Pasta by From Gate to Plate
Haluski (Fried Cabbage & Noodles) by Making Miracles
Homemade Chinese Noodles by Fearlessly Creative Mammas
Spicy Shrimp with Peanut Noodles by cookinandcraftin
Sopa Seca de Fideo – Spicy Mexican Noodles by Food Lust People Love
Green Bean and Squash Laksa by Caroline’s Cooking
Kakaós Tészta (Hungarian Cocoa Noodles) by Tara’s Multicultural Table
MiMi’s Baked Ziti by Cooking With Carlee
Tortellini and Tomato Salad by The Freshman Cook
Homemade Noodles by Our Good Life
Tossed Homemade Macaroni Noodles by A Day in the Life on the Farm
Soft Noodles with Veggies and Poached Egg by G’Gina’s Kitchenette

If you are a blogger and would like to join our group and blog along with us, come join our Facebook page Foodie Extravaganza. We would love to have you! If you’re a spectator looking for delicious tid-bits check out our Foodie Extravaganza Pinterest Board! Looking for our previous parties? Check them out HERE.

17 thoughts on “#FoodieExtravaganza: Noodles

  1. I’m with you. We should totally freak out for a few minutes about it being March already. I can’t seem to keep up this year!!! I need a little of this bacon & beer mac and cheese to calm my nerves. Comfort food is great for that and this looks delicious!

  2. No way was I picking celery, lol!!
    But… beer and bacon, that’s a dream for me too haha. I don’t know which one sold me on this dish first. The beer or the bacon 😛

  3. I really love home made mac and cheese. Unfortunately, my husband is not a fan. Adding the bacon might change his mind though. I will have to try this out on him.

    1. You know, I’m not really either, but this one reminded me of fondue with pasta more than Mac and cheese because of the beer. Definite thumbs up.

Leave a comment