Slow Cooker Pork and Potatoes

Yesterday I discovered yet another new reason to love the slow cooker! I didn’t think I could appreciate this kitchen appliance more, but turns out, it was/is possible.

I am very excited that I have the opportunity to stay home and raise my son. I feel very lucky and blessed that my husband is supportive of my decision and that together we can make it work. I absolutely love being able to see my son changing every day. Even the bad days are good. All it takes is one little smile to melt my heart and remind me that I made the right decision for our family.

When I was working I loved the slow cooker so that I wouldn’t have to prepare dinner when I got home. As much as I love to cook and be in the kitchen, after a stressful day at the office sometimes standing at the stove would be the last thing I wanted to do.

IMG_2748Now that I’m home during the day I feel like the slow cooker possibilities have multiplied! Have you noticed that there aren’t too many recipes that cook for more than 8 hours?! But now! Now I can cook something on high if I can’t get into the kitchen until later in the day!

Sure that’s all sunshine and daisies, but the real new reason I love my slow cooker is that while Stuart was at CrossFit instead of getting dinner going, I was able to sit on the couch and watch Chopped while my little man slept in my lap after a feeding. I didn’t have to play the dangerous game of putting him down in the hopes he didn’t wake up to get into the kitchen. These are the moments I live for.

Slow Cooker Pork and Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 4 gold potatoes, quartered
  • 1 can (10.75 oz) cream of chicken soup
  • 1/4 C cooking sherry
  • 1/4 C Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 pork chops (I used boneless pork tenderloin chops)

Steps:

  1. Place potatoes in the slow cooker.
  2. In a bowl whisk together soup, sherry, mustard, paprika, Italian seasoning, and S+P. Pour over potatoes.
  3. In a large skillet heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Season pork chops with S+P and sear on both sides for a couple minutes. Place on top of potatoes. Cook on high 3 hours or low 6 to 8 hours.

*This recipe is adapted from Laura at http://www.thecookingphotographer.com/2011/10/slow-cooker-pork-chops-in-dijon-paprika.html *

Slow Cooker Pork and Potatoes

One thought on “Slow Cooker Pork and Potatoes

Leave a comment