Strawberry Pork Roast

I had planned to make this beautiful pork roulade for Easter supper, but it just never happened. After getting back to the house from church it was almost 1pm and I knew there wasn’t any wiggle room in making my SRC pizza! So by 3:30 we were full and without any company we were content to have waffles for dinner around 8.

The only pork loin Publix had left was a 5lb bone-in so the thought of having to debone this beast wasn’t exactly calling my name either. But I did pull out the meat cleaver (first time I’ve used that monster!), halved it, and placed one half in the freezer for another day and the other in the fridge to figure out something more simple to do with during the week.

While perusing recipes I decided on this Marmalade Pork Loin, but I didn’t have orange marmalade or rosemary (that reminds me to add it to my grocery list!). I followed Linda’s cooking method and used strawberry jam and parsley. The result was a perfect spring dish – might I even suggest it for Mother’s Day? I served it with mashed potatoes and fresh corn on the cob.

Strawberry Pork Roast

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 lb pork roast
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 C strawberry jam
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tbsp corn starch

Steps:

  1. Rub pork with salt, pepper, and parsley.
  2. In a dutch oven, heat vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Sear pork for 2-3 minutes on all sides.
  3. Add 1 C water to the pot with the strawberry jam. Bring to a boil, add the cinnamon stick. Lower the heat to medium low and simmer for 55 minutes.
  4. Turn pork over and cook another 45-50 minutes, or until pork is cooked through.
  5. Remove pork from dutch oven and wrap in foil. Discard cinnamon stick.
  6. Whisk together cornstarch with 2 tbsp water. Pour into the dutch oven to create a gravy. Bring to a boil and allow to cook until you’re desired thickness is reached.

*This recipe is modified from Linda at http://www.rotinrice.com/2013/08/marmalade-pork-loin/*

Strawberry Pork Roast

 

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Pork Roast

Leave a comment